Collaborating with a Learning Partner

Check out Nik’s Blog

phone-call-clipart-1
(www.worldartsme.com)

At first I was a bit hesitant about this part of the online learning environment. Collaborating with a fellow student I had never met was a new experience for me. But once I realized we had similar goals from the PIDP Program and similar outlooks with our teaching styles, the conversation flowed easily.

I gained a better understanding of the changing trends in the field of construction, particularly involving new technology reducing man hours and a trend towards safety awareness. As I recapped trends in my industry of sonography, I realized we both were experiencing similar shifts towards technology based tools and extra training for the safety of others. We concluded that efficiency and better awareness seemed to be the goals in both fields.

Trends in adult education that resonated with both of us involved using practical application during training. Both of our fields presently instruct that way. We both have noticed a shift towards blended learning environments in adult education within our programs, where the theory portion is starting to be delivered online. I also discussed the newer technology being used in my training environment, such as simulators for practical experience and social media for convenient distant collaboration.

This shift of education trends in both of our fields gave us insight into new responsibilities we may take on in the future. Presently, I mainly instruct during hands-on, practical application. In the future, my role with newer technology application will soon involve our new obstetrical simulator. I would also like to create some online activities that encourage critical thinking during the practical lab sessions. Both of us also noticed an introduction to mentoring in our training fields, especially to bridge any gaps in communication from the online learning activities.

Overall, my learning partner and I work and train in similar environments and this collaboration provided useful insight into the future of our teaching fields.

Leave a Reply

